With just one read, Chelsea was able to pinpoint the areas in which my manuscript needed improvement and provide feedback that was in line with the vision I had for my book. Her insights were thoughtful and thorough, and I highly recommend her to anyone looking for a dedicated editor for their work.

— Rosie Brown, author of "A Song of Wraiths and Ruin" (HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray, Spring 2020)
August 10, 2017


Working with Chelsea was fantastic. She provided very thoughtful edits to my non-fiction documents that increased the quality of the writing dramatically. She pointed out spots where the writing wasn’t clear and offered great suggestions for improvements. My project had a very quick turnaround time and she was able to meet my deadline while providing excellent notes. I hope to work with her again soon!

— Carly Beath, Program Director at Interactive Ontario
February 26, 2018

Chelsea reviewed our group's scholarship application materials. I'm so glad we worked with her! We received a diverse group of applicants and I felt confident knowing we had ensured the materials were welcoming and inclusive thanks to her feedback and review. She was professional and always communicated her timeline of work. Highly recommend her services. We plan to work with her on more projects.

— Charlotte Kaufman
May 12, 2018


Chelsea is a prompt, enthusiastic, and talented reader. Her keen editorial eye and attention to character details illuminated gaps and problem areas in my manuscript. Thank you, Chelsea!

Margaret Mincks, author of "Payback on Poplar Lane" (Viking/Penguin Random House, February 2018)
February 23, 2018


Chelsea's work was fantastic, from the details to the big picture. She caught my typos, and pointed out my awkward phrasings. I especially appreciated the story specific advice she gave. It really helped me bring the whole thing more into focus. Thanks, Chelsea!

— Johnnie Blevins
August 7, 2017

Chelsea gave me a really well, in depth critique, not only pointing out where I needed to improve, but what I was doing right. After she was done with my critique, Chelsea was open to a discussion about the trouble areas or issues I had concerns with. I will definitely recommend her to my friends and anyone considering Chelsea for a critique - you won’t be disappointed. Thanks, Chelsea.

— Taylor Lowe
August 20, 2017


Chelsea’s meticulous attention to detail and infinite creativity have been crucial to my writing - from being the best soundboard; inspiring me whenever I’m stuck; helping me develop characters into real(istic) and relatable individuals; and making sure my grammar’s up to par. Also, she is reliable! I know she’s sacrificed some hours of sleep for this, but she always fulfills her commitments. With Chelsea, I know that I can make a schedule for edits and actually stick with it.

— Krystii K.
August 7, 2017


As a sensitivity reader, Chelsea Beam helped me see my manuscript with fresh eyes. Her well-articulated feedback, thorough notes, character acumen, and professional tone set me up for success in my next round of revisions. It can feel somewhat nerve-wracking as a white male author to send a project to a sensitivity reader whom you have never met—yet of all the readers I engaged with, Chelsea managed to find the best balance between sensitivity and constructive criticism. I found that our conversations about race and gender led me to a deeper understanding of my role as both an author and a human being in our complex society.

— James Collector
March 22, 2018

I received a first chapter critique with line and content edits from Chelsea and it's really helped me understand where to focus my next round of edits. The comments on my strengths were a nice affirmation that I was heading in the right direction, and the big picture critiques have challenged me to think about my characters and the order of events in a way I hadn't thought of before. She took the time and effort to give me in depth line edits too, and wow - she pointed out every instance where it didn't make sense, my character was underdeveloped or there was a plausibility issue. These are all things I know agents will look out for, so having the chance to fix them all up now is invaluable! I highly recommend Chelsea for an analytical look over your work and to help bring it up to the next level.

— Nicole Lowrey
September 12, 2017


Over the span of two years, I was fortunate enough to be in several writing workshops with Chelsea, which meant that I benefited from numerous rounds of her thoughtful edits and constructive critiques. She approached every editing task with a keen eye for detail and precision, while still maintaining a perspective for the larger picture--or in my case, the larger story. While other reviewers sometimes nit-picked my choice of words or raised eyebrows at my plot decisions, she offered suggestions that allowed me to stay true to my own writing voice. When she did find an aspect of the plot confusing or unbelievable, she would always ask questions that helped me delve deeper into the issue and work out a solution myself. In short, Chelsea provides a method of editing that is both professional and friendly, and I would recommend her skills to all those who are searching for an expert to streamline their work.

— Leslie C.
January 18, 2018


Chelsea reviewed and edited work for me and I was amazed by the quality of her work. She provided both high level comments about the material as well as detailed in-line edits on more specific issues. Her comments were thoughtful, insightful, and spot on. I would highly recommend her services to any writer looking for honesty and excellence in an editor!

— Lisen Minetti
August 7, 2017

Want to work with me?